how mushrooms are grown at

bio-champi

The mushroom production technique used at Bio-Champi is unique in Europe since it is an above-ground production, in reusable polypropylene jars. This production technique was developed in Japan, where the efficiency and quality of the products must be accommodated by the lack of space.

 

To understand certain technical terms, it is useful to make a comparison with plants. The substrate is the nourishing material on which the fungus grows. The mycelium is similar to roots that develop in the substrate to give birth to the fungus.

 

The substrate used in the Japanese production technique is very different from that used for the cultivation of button mushrooms which consists of straw and manure. This consists of sawdust, hemp shives, wheat bran and other plant materials. This materials allows less biological and chemical contamination of the substrate jars as well as high quality development of the mycelium, and therefore of the mushroom.

Once the jars are filled with the substrate, they are sterilized at high temperature to remove any germ. This high temperature heat treatment is very effective against germs since the sterilization time is long and the temperature high. Therefore, unlike other mushroom production techniques, it is subsequently not necessary to apply a chemical treatment on the substrate.

After sterilization, inoculation (or seeding) of the substrate is carried out. This step is crucial because rules of hygiene and cleanliness must be followed to the letter in order not to contaminate the jars of substrate.

Then, the pots are placed in a maturation chamber, at a regulated temperature of 20 ° C to allow the development of the mycelium in the substrate jar.

Once the maturation of several months is complete, the pots are ready for mushroom growth, in buildings at controlled temperature and humidity, or quite simply in the Touraine tuffeau cellars.

© 2020 by Bio-Champi.

© 2018 par Bio-Champi. 

la culture des champignons chez

bio-champi

La technique de production des champignons employée chez Bio-Champi est unique en Europe puisque c’est une production hors-sol, dans des pots en polypropylène réutilisables. Cette technique de production a été mise au point au Japon, où l’efficacité et la qualité des produits doivent s’accommoder du manque d’espace. 

Pour comprendre certains termes techniques, il est utile de faire une comparaison avec les plantes. Le substrat est la matière nourricière sur laquelle pousse le champignon. Le mycélium est similaire à des racines qui se développent dans le substrat afin de donner naissance au  champignon.

Le substrat utilisé dans la technique de production japonaise est très différent de celui employé pour la culture des champignons de Paris qui se compose de paille et de fumier. Celui-ci se compose de sciure de bois, d’anas de chanvre, de son de blé et d’autres matières végétales. Cette composition permet une moindre contamination des pots de substrat ainsi qu'un meilleur développement du mycélium.

Une fois les pots remplis du substrat, ils sont stérilisés à haute température pour éliminer tout germe. Ce traitement thermique à haute température est très efficace contre les germes puisque la durée de stérilisation est longue et la température élevée. C’est pourquoi il n’est pas nécessaire par la suite d’appliquer un traitement chimique contrairement à d'autres méthodes.

A l’issue de la stérilisation, on procéde à l’inoculation, ou ensemencement du substrat. Cette étape est cruciale car des règles d’hygiène et de propreté doivent être respectées à la lettre afin de ne pas contaminer les pots de substrat. 

Ensuite, les pots sont placés en chambre de maturation, à une température régulée de 20°C pour permettre le développement du mycélium dans le pot de substrat.

Une fois la maturation de plusieurs mois achevée, les pots sont prêts pour la pousse des champignons, dans des bâtiments à la température et à l’hygrométrie adaptée ou bien tout simplement dans les caves de tuffeau tourangelles.